TES Technical Safety - Dangerous Goods Containments
Site-Navigation: About TES | © Disclaimer | Glossary | Keywords A-Z | Sitemap | Search | Deutsch
Bundesadler


Usage

1. What´s it about?

The term "usage" is not specified in the provisions.
Our definition is as follows: A user is a company which want to fill and transport an approved packaging with dangerous goods. This could be the consignor, packer, filler, loader or carrier as specified in the provisions.


top

2. Where can I find an approved packaging?

All approvals issued by BAM can be found in the Database Dangerous Goods Packagings or in Lists of approvals.

Please note, that you should get in contact with the approval holder and not with the manufacturer if you want to by packagings.


top

3. How do I find the correct approved packaging?

Step 1 - Determine the classification of the dangerous substance or dangerous object that is to be carried, the aim being to establish: Procedure:
Step 2 - Determine the transport requirements for the dangerous substance or dangerous object that is to be carried.
Procedure:
Step 3 - Go to the corresponding chapter of Part 6 of the regulations and determine the minimum requirements with regard to the construction, equipment, approval, testing and labelling of the dangerous goods enclosure to be used for the respective dangerous substance, and also determine the individual additional requirements that apply for the specific individual application.
Procedure:
top

4. UN-Marking of dangerous goods packagings: A selection criterion?

In order to guard against misunderstandings: No, it doesn’t!

The approval is the permission to produce and label from an assembly line a packaging that is to be used for the carriage of dangerous goods; it is not an approval for the use of such goods:

(ADR/RID Chapter 6.1.3 Marking)

The marking indicates, that the packaging which bears it corresponds to a successfully tested design type, and that it complies with the requirements of this Chapter related to the manufacture, but not to the use of the packaging. In itself, therefore, the mark does not necessarily confirm that the packaging may be used for ANY substance: generally the type of packaging (e.g. steel drum), its maximum capacity and/or mass, and any special requirements are specified for each substance in Table A of Chapter 3.2.

Although these explanations can formally only be found for packagings within the narrower sense, they also apply analogously for IBCs and for large packagings, because the same principle of UN coding is to be applied there as for packagings. The first sentence of Note 3 is also worth repeating here again:

The marking does not always provide full details of the test levels, etc., and these may need to be taken further into account, e.g. by reference to a test certificate, to test reports or to a register of successfully tested packagings.

This makes it completely clear that, to meet one's responsibility in this respect, it is not adequate to simply use an authorized packaging bearing a corresponding UN marking without applying more detailed information. This could lead to a totally unacceptable result with respect to the application of the respective packaging.

If all of the relevant information about the test level or detailed test conditions for the packaging or the IBC are present in the above stated sense, the potential user will err nonetheless if he thinks that he has then complied with all of his obligations under the dangerous goods regulations.
The user must know that a packaging may be only meeting the minimum requirements necessary for obtaining an approval for application. Chapter 4.1 of the RID/ADR titled "Use of packagings, including intermediate bulk containers (IBCs) and large packagings" begins with the following ominous requirement:

4.1.1.1 Dangerous goods shall be packed in good quality packagings, including IBCs and large packagings which shall be strong enough to withstand the shocks and loadings normally encountered during carriage, including trans-shipment between transport units and between transport units and warehouses as well as any removal from a pallet or overpack for subsequent manual or mechanical handling.
Packagings, including IBCs and large packagings, shall be constructed and closed so as to prevent any loss of contents when prepared for transport which might be caused under normal conditions of transport, by vibration, or by changes in temperature, humidity or pressure (resulting from altitude, for example). No dangerous residue shall adhere to the outside of packagings, IBCs and large packagings during carriage. These provisions apply, as appropriate, to new, reused, reconditioned or remanufactured packagings and to new, reused, repaired or remanufactured IBCs, and to new or reused large packagings.

Since there is no definition of what worldwide normal conditions of carriage are, the user is obliged to specify a design of packaging that meets the requirements of his particular application, since only he knows whether the packaging will be going on a long sea voyage into hot and moist tropical climates, or by rail into cold Siberia.
Furthermore, the user should know that during shipment by air there will be a drop in air pressure. Thus, even in the case where the approval does not require an inner receptacle in a combination packaging, the user must have provided evidence that a test for 75 kPa or 95 kPa respectively has been successfully passed.
The crucial point remains, that the packaging or the IBC must be designed in such a way that the charge does not escape under normal conditions of carriage, whereby it is clear that aspects such as vibrations, changes in temperature, changes in humidity or pressure play no role whatsoever for the issuance of the approval. In fact, for boxes made of carton exactly the opposite is prescribed: To ensure environmentally uniform test conditions, these packagings are not to be drop tested or stack tested under the real humidity conditions that are to be expected; instead these tests are to be performed under prescribed normal climatic conditions.


top

5. See also (TES internal links)


top

6. Weblinks (external links)


top
2011-03-25
Signature TES (Start)
Technical Safety -
Dangerous Goods Containments
Databases

Database Dangerous Goods Packagings
Register of German Approvals

Dangerous Goods Database
Planning of Transport incl. Transport Documents

TES Technische Sicherheit - Gefahrgutumschließungen
Site-Navigation: Über TES | © Impressum | Glossar | Stichworte A-Z | Sitemap | Suche | English
Bundesadler


Verwendung

1. Worum geht's?

Der Begriff der Verwendung bzw. des Verwenders ist in den Vorschriften nicht eigens definiert.
"Verwender" ist im Zusammenhang mit der Informationsbereitstellung auf dieser Seite ein Unternehmen, das eine bereits zugelassene Gefahrgutverpackung mit Gefahrgut befüllen und transportieren (lassen) möchte, also der (in den Regelwerken definierte) Absender, Beförderer, Empfänger, Verlader und Verpacker.


top

2. Wo finde ich bereits zugelassene Verpackungen?

Für die Suche nach Zulassungen von Verpackungen Großpackmittel (IBC) und Großverpackungen (LP) sowie deren Inhaber und Hersteller stellt die BAM Auszüge aus ihrer Datenbank in Form der

zur Verfügung.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie sich an den Zulassungsinhaber wenden sollten, wenn Sie Verpackungen kaufen möchten, und nicht an den Hersteller.


top

3. Wie wähle ich die richtige Verpackung aus?

Welche Verpackung man verwenden darf, hängt von der Art des Füllgutes ab, welches damit befördert werden soll und wird in den verkehrsträgerspezifischen Rechtsgrundlagen geregelt (ADR / RID, IAEA, IMDG Code, ICAO/ IATA, ADN und ADNR). Wie finden Sie eine zulässige Verpackung?


Stufe 1 - Klärung der Klassifizierung des für die Beförderung vorgesehenen gefährlichen Stoffes oder Gegenstandes mit dem Ziel der Ermittlung

Anmerkung: "Richtig" bedeutet, dfass diese Angaben in Übereinstimmung mit den jeweils gültigen Voschriften bestimmt wurden.


Vorgehensweise:
Stufe 2 - Klärung der für den gefährlichen Stoff oder den Gegenstand geltenden Beförderungsvorschriften.
Vorgehensweise:
Stufe 3 - Klärung der für das betreffende gefährliche Gut zutreffenden Mindestanforderungen bezüglich Bau, Ausrüstung, Zulassung, Prüfung und Kennzeichnung an die vorgesehene Gefahrgutumschließung im zutreffenden Kapitel des Teils 6 der Vorschriften + Klärung der individuellen verwendungsspezifischen zusätzlichen Anforderungen.
Vorgehensweise:
top

4. Das UN-Kennzeichen von Gefahrgutverpackungen: Ein Auswahlkriterium?

Um Missverständnissen vorzubeugen: Die UN-Kennzeichnung, mit der alle Gefahrgutverpackungen versehen sein müssen, reicht als alleiniges Kriterium zur Auswahl einer Verpackung nicht aus!

Die Zulassung ist eine Erlaubnis zur serienmäßigen Herstellung und Kennzeichnung einer Verpackung für den Transport gefährlicher Güter und nicht für deren Verwendung:

ADR/ RID (Abschnitt 6.1.3 Kennzeichnung)

(...) Die Kennzeichnung auf der Verpackung gibt an, dass diese einer erfolgreich geprüften Bauart entspricht und die Vorschriften dieses Kapitels erfüllt, soweit diese sich auf die Herstellung und nicht auf die Verwendung der Verpackung beziehen. Folglich sagt die Kennzeichnung nicht unbedingt aus, dass die Verpackung für irgendeinen Stoff verwendet werden darf: Die Verpackungsart, der maximale Fassungsraum (...) sowie etwaige besondere Vorschriften sind für jeden Stoff in Kapitel 3.2 Tabelle A festgelegt. (...)

Obwohl diese Erläuterungen formal nur bei den Verpackungen im engeren Sinne zu finden sind, gelten sie sinngemäß auch für IBC und Großverpackungen, da dort das gleiche Prinzip der UN-Codierung wie bei den Verpackungen angewandt wird. Auch der erste Satz der Bemerkung 3, ist es Wert, an dieser Stelle wiederholt zu werden:

(...) Die Kennzeichnung liefert nicht immer vollständige Einzelheiten beispielsweise über das Prüfniveau; es kann daher notwendig sein, diesem Gesichtspunkt auch unter Bezugnahme auf ein Prüfzertifikat, Prüfberichte oder ein Verzeichnis erfolgreich geprüfter Verpackungen Rechnung zu tragen. (...)

Damit ist vollkommen klar, dass man seiner Verantwortung nicht schon dadurch gerecht wird, wenn man meint, es reicht, eine "zugelassene" Verpackung mit entsprechender UN-Kennzeichnung ohne nähere Informationen einzusetzen. Dies kann zu einem total unzureichendem Ergebnis bezüglich der Verwendung führen.

Sollten alle relevanten Informationen über das Prüfniveau oder die näheren Prüfbedingungen der Verpackung oder des IBCs im oben genannten Sinne vorhanden sein, irrt der potentielle Verwender gleichwohl, wenn er meint, dass er nun allen Verpflichtungen der Gefahrgutvorschriften genügt hat.
Der Verwender muss wissen, dass eine Verpackung gegebenenfalls nur die Mindestvoraussetzungen bezüglich des Prüfniveaus für die Erteilung einer Zulassung erfüllt. Das Kapitel 4.1 des RID/ ADR, mit der Überschrift "Verwendung von Verpackungen, einschließlich Großpackmittel (IBC) und Großverpackungen", beginnt aber mit folgender ominösen Anforderung:

(...) 4.1.1.1 Gefährliche Güter müssen in Verpackungen, einschließlich Großpackmittel (IBC) und Großverpackungen, guter Qualität verpackt sein.
Diese müssen ausreichend stark sein, dass sie den Stößen und Belastungen, die unter normalen Beförderungsbedingungen auftreten können, standhalten, einschließlich des Umschlags zwischen Beförderungsmitteln und/oder Lagerhäusern sowie jeder Entnahme von einer Palette oder aus einer Umverpackung zur nachfolgenden manuellen oder mechanischen Handhabung.
Die Verpackungen, einschließlich Großpackmittel (IBC) und Großverpackungen, müssen so hergestellt und so verschlossen sein, dass unter normalen Beförderungsbedingungen das Austreten des Inhalts aus der versandfertigen Verpackung, insbesondere infolge von Vibration, Temperaturwechsel, Feuchtigkeits- oder Druckänderung (z.B. hervorgerufen durch Höhenunterschiede) vermieden wird. Während der Beförderung dürfen an der Außenseite von Versandstücken, einschließlich Großpackmitteln (IBC) und Großverpackungen, keine gefährlichen Rückstände anhaften. Diese Vorschriften gelten, wenn zutreffend, für neue, wiederverwendete, rekonditionierte und wiederaufgearbeitete Verpackungen und für neue und wiederverwendete Großpackmittel (IBC) sowie für Großverpackungen.(...)

Da nirgends definiert ist, was weltweit normale Beförderungsbedingungen sind, ist der Verwender verpflichtet, die Auslegung der Verpackung nach seinem speziellen Anwendungsfall festzulegen, da nur er weiß, ob die Verpackung auf eine lange Seereise in die feuchtwarmen Tropen oder auf alten Schienen ins kalte Sibirien geschickt werden soll.
Auch sollte der Verwender wissen, dass bei Luftversand im Flugzeug eine Absenkung des äußeren Druckes stattfindet. Deshalb muss er auch für eine ansonsten nicht der Zulassung unterliegende Innenverpackung einer zusammengesetzten Verpackung den Nachweis über das Bestehen der Innendruckprüfung mit 75 kPA bzw. 95 kPA geführt haben.
Entscheidend bleibt, dass die Verpackung bzw. der IBC so ausgelegt ist, dass das Füllgut unter normalen Beförderungsbedingungen nicht austritt, wobei klar ist, dass für die Erteilung der Zulassung Aspekte bezüglich Vibration, Temperaturwechsel, Feuchtigkeits- oder Druckänderung überhaupt keine Rolle spielen. Bei Kisten aus Pappe ist sogar ausdrücklich das Gegenteil vorgeschrieben: Um weltweit einheitliche Prüfbedingungen zu gewährleisten, müssen diese Verpackungen nicht etwa bei den real zu erwartenden Luftfeuchtigkeiten die Fall- und Stapeldruckprüfungen, sondern bei einem vorgegebenen Normklima erfüllen.


top

5. Siehe auch (TES-interne Links)


top

6. Weblinks (externe Links)


top
2011-03-09
Schriftzug TES (Link zur TES-Startseite)
Technische Sicherheit - Gefahrgutumschließungen
Datenbanken

Verpackungs-Recherche
Deutsche Zulassungen von Gefahrgutverpackungen

Datenbank GEFAHRGUT
Transportplanung inkl. Beförderungspapiere